jump to navigation

Our first visitors to our stand January 14, 2010

Posted by bodonovan in open-source, ubuntu.
trackback

When we were planning our Ubuntu demonstration we expected that the visitors to the stand would be very puzzled and we would have to explain everything in very simple terms. However we got a surprise when the first visitors to our stand were 2 boys (who are in 2nd and 4 year in secondary school) who had developed their own Ubuntu based operating system called Zorin-OS. It looks to be really cool so why not try it out.

I never case to e amazed by the ability of the young people who enter this competition – this event will be as much a learning experience  as a teaching one.

Comments»

1. Fred Raguillat - January 14, 2010

Wow, 2 bays you said!? the Os looks very neat & the website looks very very professional!! will definitely try it!! (and you never know it could be in few years time the official IBM OS to be used on employee’s laptops..) – THX for sharing Brian! 😉

2. pollicia - January 15, 2010

Hi Brian, agree with you. I managed to take a walk through some of the stands and chat with some of the students yesterday. It was my first time attending the BTYSYE. Actually, it was my first time attending such an event overall.

Having never been a great science-kid myself when I was in school, I have to say I am blown away by how talented these young scientists are. If I went back in time, I’d definitely give science a better go 🙂

The real revelation for me, however, was to see how environment-conscious some of the projects were. Looking at how we can conserve water, prevent pollution, lead a healthier lifestyle. Best luck to all exhibitors for the awards ceremony today!


Leave a Reply

